5 Practical Ways I’m Trying to be More Confident

Self confidence is one of the key personal qualities necessary for success in life. I’ve previously written about how I’m learning to be more confident here but I realized that I wanted something more practical and easier to implement; something I could put into practise today. Not being confident makes me feel like I’m missing out on so many opportunities in life and that’s not how I want to live. I don’t want to be the person that stays inside all the time because I feel awkward, shy and not confident in myself. Here are a five things that I’m doing to work on it:

Make Eye Contact

I hate looking people in the eyes. It’s like they can see right through my soul and it makes me very uncomfortable. But on the other hand, I know that not looking people in the eyes gives off the wrong impression – what is she hiding? What is she afraid of? Why won’t she look me in the eyes? To build self confidence, it’s key to look people in the eyes as it speaks to how confident and open you are but I’m still working on this one. What has helped me so far has been to start slowly making eye contact with people like cashiers where I can have a quick “throwaway” conversations and build my way from there. I still tend to not look at people directly in their eyes but at a point very close by like the middle of their eyebrows. The other person can’t tell and I don’t feel as uncomfortable.

Walk with Confidence

This is a much easier and very practical way of gaining more self confidence. I simply had to learn to be more aware of my posture and my gait. Focusing on standing up straighter and not dawdling when I walk has made a huge difference in how I feel and how I’m perceived by others. I straighten up, pull my shoulders back, lift my head and walk a little faster. In my head I’m thinking, “I’m going to an important place to do important things and to do them well.” Walking with confidence has helped me feel more confident and the more I do it, the better I feel.

Express My Opinions

I’ve been afraid of expressing my opinion for fear I would sound stupid or ridiculous but I’ve learned that the more I hold back my opinions because of this fear, the more I kill my confidence. I’ve learned the opposite to be true, in fact; the more I speak up, the more confident I become. I’ve made it a rule to speak up at every meeting and this has become much easier over time. Sometimes, I truly don’t have anything to add to a discussion so I use the lead in, “I’d just like to add, I agree with…” and go from there. It builds goodwill with my coworkers and gives me the opportunity to add my 2 cents and build my confidence.

Sit in the Front Rows

Sitting right in the front has helped me develop confidence by not being afraid to stand out. The back seats are always filled first but those that sit in the front aren’t afraid to be seen, express their opinions and they believe in themselves. I try to sit in the front whenever I can and I’ve become more confident in myself.

Smile

A broad smile gives a sense of confidence, overcomes fear, does away with anxiety and eliminates despondency and despair. Whenever I can, I try to smile to become more open and to radiate self confidence. Along with walking tall, a smile gives off an air of self confidence and you tell yourself that good things are happening.

These are the five things that have been working for me to build my self confidence, what works for you? Leave me a comment and let me know!

3 thoughts on “5 Practical Ways I’m Trying to be More Confident

Leave a Reply

