My Big Life Change

Fitness has always been such a huge part of my life. Growing up, I played a variety of sports in school such as soccer, basketball, volleyball, and even a bit of baseball. When I wasn’t in class, you could always find me at the gym. Recently, after going through a very hard time with depression and feeling stressed out about work, I realized I couldn’t keep living like this. I know I have to make a change so after thinking about it (a lot!) I’ve decided to go back to school and become a personal trainer. I know there are cheaper ways to get started in training than going to school for two years but, I’m a perfectionist and I need to learn all the ins and outs.

I’m not sure if I’m totally “bouncing” here and making a rash decision but it seems logical considering it’s related to one of my very few passions and secondly, I’m going in with eyes wide open. I know there isn’t a whole lot of money to be made initially and it’s very hard work to get clients. I’m also introverted (but not shy) so you won’t exactly see me schmoozing to get clients everywhere I go – I just wouldn’t be comfortable. I know there are ways to get around it and I’ll just have to work harder and longer but I’m OK with that.

One of the main reasons I decided to become a trainer is also for the flexibility. I don’t have to sit at a desk for several hours a day, 5 days a week – I would be working in chunks of 1 hour blocks. There will be a lot of hours but it will be a mix of both being with clients and time with myself, taking care of administrative and planning work. If things go really well – I will be working part time hours with full time money coming in and running my own business. The mental benefits outweigh the financial rewards for me, significantly.

I’m still feeling nervous and stressed but I also am looking forward to going back to school. I just hope all of this just works out in the end =\

Are there any trainers out there that can give me any tips or words of encouragement? I would love to hear about your experiences.

Leave a Reply

