6 Things I Do Every Morning to Get a Head Start

I was one of those people who was constantly late everywhere I went. Appointments, work – I was always barely on time. Being late all the time is very stressful and over time, it took a toll on me. I never felt rested or calm and I was always tired. Not a great way to live. One day I had had enough and decided to create a morning routine for myself to streamline the process. Here’s what I do:

1. Drink Water First

To get things going in the morning, I drink a huge glass of water as soon as I wake up. It energizes me and gets me rehydrated and ready for the day. Sometimes, I’ll add a bit of lemon juice or apple cider vinegar in there for the added detoxifying benefits.

2. Open a Window

I wake up when it’s still dark outside and there’s nothing quite like the early morning still and freshness. I take a deep breath in, even when it’s cold out, and it feels incredibly calming.

3. Stretch

I don’t have a lot of time in the mornings so my stretching usually only takes 5 minutes or so but it makes a huge difference. My favourite stretch is a forward bend where I touch my toes as it gets the blood rushing to my head and gives me an energy boost when I need it the most.

4. Practise Gratitude 

I use a gratitude app every morning that asks me two things: 1) What are you grateful for? and 2) What would make today better? and then I write a positive affirmation at the end. Practising gratitude in this way has helped me in several aspects of my life but especially mentally. It’s important to appreciate what you already have and to see the silver linings in every experience.

5. Have Breakfast (or At Least a Coffee)

I don’t always have time for breakfast but I always make time to have a coffee to start my day. Of course a balanced breakfast with protein, carbs and fat is ideal but that’s not always possible for me. Coffee provides me with a boost to start my day, tastes good and is a source of antioxidants and it helps suppress my appetite until lunch. I can’t start my day without it.

6. I Don’t Touch My Phone for an Hour

This is probably the toughest habit I had to develop. It’s just so tempting to quickly check email or catch up on the news but I am much happier to have the first hour of my day free of distractions and just to myself. If you try anything on this list, make it this one and see how much calmer and relaxed you feel in the mornings.

What would you add to this list? Or do you do any of these things already? Leave me a comment and let me know what your mornings look like. =)

Leave a Reply

